[英翻中] O Work

It’s weird. When I’m away from work, I spend a lot of time just dreading work. I feel weak and tired and worn and jaded and generally would prefer to lie down and let my mind do some thumb-twiddling. But when I’m actually doing work, I feel none of that. I guess that’s better than the worst case scenario where I’m cursing every minute of the way, at or off work.

說來也奇怪,當我沒在上班的時候,有很多時間都是在對工作感到焦慮,並且會感到全身無力,疲憊,厭倦。下了班真的只想躺下然後放空。但當我在工作的時候這些感覺都會不見。至少我不是不論上下班時間都在低聲咒罵。

I enjoy the part of my work where I’m actually an engineer. I’m thinking of ways to solve a problem. I go through the thought process of how things occur in theory then how that translate to the practical world. Of course when I’m called, something is usually wrong, so according to my theoretical understanding of the problem, I design experiments (you know, try things) aimed at either directly solving the problem or testing my hypothesis. Finally I implement a solution. This is all good for developing the brain, because in order to do this all efficiently, the scientific method is to be used. It strengthens my conviction that science is the best way to uncover/develop new knowledge.

工作上,我其實很喜歡當工程師這部份: 思考如何解決問題。我需要考慮事情背後的理論及其在現實的表現。當然客戶只有發生問題的時候才會找我過去,所以這時我還需要運用對儀器運作的理解去設計一些實驗來解決問題或者測試我的種種假設。最後,我落實我想到的解答。其實這工作對於鍛鍊頭腦很有幫助,因為要能夠有效率的解決問題得依賴科學方法。工作也讓我更確信科學是發展新知識的最佳方法。

It’s some ways away from how I had imagined I’d be when I was studying engineering in college. I always thought I’d end up developing/designing something (most engineers you talk to are in R&D). But troubleshooting scientific instrument is no trivial job, and fixing the problem even less so. (Though, admittedly, since we didn’t design the damn thing, some of the fixing is left for the original manufacturer).

其實我在大學念電子工程的時候壓根沒想到會這樣。我一直以為我會走上研發這條路,而事實上許多 “工程師” 都是RD。但是查科學儀器的故障原因絕對沒那麼簡單,而找到後要修復更是困難 (不過我得承認,東西不是我們設計的,所以有時問題還是會丟給原廠處裡)

What I don’t enjoy quite as much, is dealing with people. (Spoken like a true engineer, if I may say so myself)

比起跟儀器周旋,我很不喜歡跟人打交道 (對我就是死工程師)

——————

其實一直以來都有中翻英的經驗,對於某些類型的文章我也自認翻出來的結果還過得去。也因為這些經驗,我自認我多少能理解翻譯的難處。

這是我第一次嘗試翻譯自己寫的東西。英翻中從來就不是我的強項,但我也沒想到即使是翻譯自己的文章還是可以這麼困難。當然我知道我的中文很破,可是看著自己翻出來的東西,還是覺得超乎我想像的爛。我完全了解我自己想要表達的東西,但是翻譯過後卻還是2266。同樣的主題我如果一開始就用中文寫絕對不會那麼悽慘啊!! 我想有些東西是語文本質的差異吧,所以無論怎麼翻總是會失去一些味道?

我自認使用不同語言時會有些許不同個性的應該也是因為這些語文所附帶的文化差異的關係吧?

7 thoughts on “[英翻中] O Work

  1. 所以工程師都在忙甚麼?我姐夫也是工程師,忙得天翻地覆,我還是無法瞭解。

    • ㄟ看你姐夫是什麼產品的哪一類的工程師囉~
      同樣稱為工程師,工作內容真的是可以有很大很大的差別!

  2. 那我還是問他,因為我問我姐,我姐說:你姐夫說每天都忙到這麼晚,不希望再談工作上的事情。所以…真的沒人知道他到底在忙甚麼 囧

Leave a Reply

