Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas people!

I realize it has been a while since I had last written in English, but I doubt anyone misses my wordy prose.

It’s Christmas morning here in Taiwan, and I am currently typing this not by a fireplace (do those things exist in Taiwan?), not by a decorated tree, but by a 28″ CRT TV (of no significance). Yes, I am currently on a business trip out in beautiful Hualien and thus in no position to enjoy said beauty; the weather’s lousy anyways. There’s a couple more days left on this trip, then finally I’ll be back in my sweet overstuffed room and my lovely wife.

This trip marked the first time I’ve driven the Suhua highway, a road I’d religiously avoided in the years past. Afterall, Hualien could be enjoyed in a rental car all the same. Besides, it’s not like I have my own car. Anyhoo, for those of you who don’t know, Suhua highway is a stretch of two lane road on the north east coast of Taiwan that is notorious for its unstable geology (damn, and my festive mood had just been interrupted by a business call)

~~ 14-hour work-day later ~~

As I was saying, Suhua highway is notorious for its unstable geology. Stretches of it is essentially carved right into crumbly cliffs. In fact, as I’m typing this, Suhua highway is closed until further notice due to heavy rockfall. If it remains closed tomorrow, I will have the unsavory choice of driving around Taiwan 3/4 the way clockwise, or stay another day and enjoy the lousy weather. I love having choices.

Christmas isn’t big in Taiwan like it is in the US (and where celebrated is done so in a different sense), but I’d still rather spend it knowing I can go home to my family, because that’s what it’s supposed to be all about isn’t it? Getting together with your family, and giving, of course. Happy holidays. I’m gonna go pass out and hope that when I wake up, fucking Suhua is open.

~~ Totally unrelated ~~

Some dude in Taiwan who promotes healthy eating says he allots 9 meals outside his home a month. That’s a 3-day business trip for me.

10 thoughts on “Merry Christmas!

  1. I remember long ago I envied those who went on business trips. Y’know, expenses paid for, and you get to visit new places. The prestige of being important enough to be sent on a trip.

    Well, that was before I was married. Business trips became less enticing.

    And then kids came along, business trips become infeasible and a major source of stress.

    Anyway, hope you had a good Christmas and will have a wonderful New Year with your lovely wife.🙂

    • Thanks alex.
      Business trips to me are a nuisance now, though I do welcome the very few trips overseas (well before I have kids anyways). Domestic trips I get money to eat quick food and half-decent hotels, enough for survival type of thing.

      Hope you’re enjoying your holidays with your family!

Leave a Reply

